Home / Government / Gatlinburg Mayor Mike Werner elected to Tennessee Municipal League Board
Do you like Sevier News Messenger?
Gatlinburg Mayor Mike Werner elected toTennessee Municipal League Board of Directors

Gatlinburg Mayor Mike Werner elected to Tennessee Municipal League Board

Mike Werner, mayor of Gatlinburg, was elected to the board of directors of the Tennessee Municipal League during the League’s annual conference recently held in Nashville. Curtis Hayes, mayor of Livingston was elected President.

A five-member nominating committee composed of municipal officials statewide nominated Werner as a director at large. He was then elected for a one-year term by a majority vote of the membership.

As a member of the Tennessee Municipal League Board of directors, Mayor Werner will propose and help determine legislation municipalities need passed into law and will establish policy priorities for the League.

Founded in 1940 and based in Nashville, Tennessee Municipal League is a nonprofit organization founded by cities and towns for mutual assistance and improvement. Representing 99 percent of Tennessee’s municipal citizens, the organization advocates for needed legislative action by the General Assembly, represents municipal interests before state departments and agencies, and – working through the National League of Cities in Washington – seeks to influence federal legislation and policies affecting municipal governments.

At the June 2, 2015 Gatlinburg City Commission meeting, Mike Werner was unanimously elected mayor and Mark McCown was unanimously elected vice mayor.

About Submitted Report

These are articles or announcements submitted to the Sevier News Messenger by individuals, businesses, agencies or organizations. If you have news to share, please submit it through our Contact Page.